Fandom


Approved1Befallene

Bartholomew ist das Kind von Elizabeth und James March, das Elizabeth versuchte abzutreiben. Er ist ein Nebencharakter in Hotel.

Hintergrund Bearbeiten

Er wurde 1926 geboren, als seine Mutter, Elizabeth, die Hilfe von Dr. Charles Montgomery suchte, um ihre Schwangerschaft zu beenden, angeblich 3 Wochen vor dem Geburtstermin. Bartholomäus ist stark entstellt und in einem ewigen Zustand der Kindheit. Er wohnt in Zimmer 33 des Hotels Cortez, das von Iris und den menschlichen Schergen seiner Mutter betreut wird.

Personalität und Aussehen Bearbeiten

Sein Gesicht und sein Kopf sind bauchig und ungeformt, mit einer Gaumenspalte, die sich weit über die Nasennebenhöhle hinaus erstreckt und mit mehreren scharfen Zähnen um seinen Rachen herum gefüllt ist. Er hat keine Nase, und seine Augen sind weit und ohne Pupillen und spiegeln die Gesichter seiner Opfer in purer Schwärze. Er scheint extrem blutrünstig in der Natur zu sein und jeden anzugreifen, der seinen Schlaf in den dunkelsten Winkel des Hotels stört.

Geschichte Bearbeiten

Bartholomew wurde geboren, nachdem seine Mutter Elizabeth versucht hatte, eine Abtreibung im Mordhaus zu erreichen. Er wurde während der Operation von Elizabeth entfernt und einer Krankenschwester gegeben. Der Arzt sagte ihr, sie solle ihn loswerden, aber sie berichtete, dass er noch am Leben sei. Dann griff er sie an und verzehrte ihr Blut brutal. Trotz dieser schockierenden Wendung schien der Arzt zufrieden mit dem, was passierte, und als Elizabeth aufwachte, erzählte sie ihr glücklich, dass sie einen Jungen hatte. Er reichte ihr ihren Sohn, und sie sah ihn mit etwas an, das wie Liebe aussah.

In einer Szene geht Elizabeth den Korridor des Cortez entlang. Sie schließt die Tür zu Raum 33 auf, in dem ein Kinderzimmer in der Dunkelheit existiert. Sie sieht auf eine Wiege herunter und lächelt, als sie nach unten greift, um ihren Sohn aufzuheben und ihn in ihren Händen zu halten. Sie berichtet, dass sie nach Paris gehen wird, aber sagt ihm, dass sie ihn, wenn sie zurückkommt, nie wieder verlassen muss, da sie bald das Erbe von Will Drake besitzen wird, wenn er ihn heiratet und ermordet.

Nachdem Ramona versucht Bartholomew zu töten, um sich an Elizabeth zu rächen, kratzt er ihr übers Gesicht. Sie schafft es zu entkommen, rennt aus dem Raum und vergisst unabsichtlich, die Tür hinter sich zu schließen, damit Bartholomew seine Grenzen verlassen kann. Er kommt in Zimmer 64 an, fällt in John Lowes Gepäck (der gerade das Hotel Cortez verläßt) und findet sich schließlich in Johns Haus wieder. John beginnt seinen Koffer auszupacken, hört aber Scarlett weinen und geht, um sie zu trösten. Als er in sein Zimmer zurückkehrt, findet er sein Gepäck gekippt und seine Kleider verstreut. Als er Bartholomew findet, ist er entsetzt und versucht, ihn zu erschießen, aber er macht Scarlett damit Angst, der glaubt, dass ihr Vater geisteskrank ist und rennt in ihr Zimmer. Bartholomew verliert dabei nur wenig Blut und schafft es, aus dem Haus zu fliehen. John beschreibt ihn als "ein Monster" für einen Detektiv, der auf dem Grundstück ankommt, um zu hinterfragen, was passiert ist. Kurz darauf findet Alex ihn im Gras vor dem Haus und bringt ihn zu Elizabeth zurück, die gerade aus Paris zurückgekommen ist, ohne sich über die Flucht ihres Sohnes bewusst zu sein.

Nach seiner Hochzeit mit Elizabeth wird Will Drake von James March angesprochen, der ihm mitteilt, dass er ein Stiefvater für Elizabeths Kind sein wird. Will ist verwirrt, also beschließt James, Will zu zeigen, was seine Frau vor einem Jahrhundert zur Welt gebracht hat. Will ist schockiert und zutiefst beunruhigt, als er Bartholomew sieht, dass er nicht menschlich aussieht. Er fragt sich, ob es möglich ist, dass dieses Kind die Gräfin ist, und fragt, ob das ein Witz ist. Ohne es zu wissen, erscheint Elizabeth hinter ihm, beleidigt von seinen harten Worten gegenüber ihrem Kind. Sie sagt ihm, dass sie ihm die Güte getan hätte, ihn in Paris während ihrer Flitterwochen zu töten, aber er ist angewidert von seiner Feindseligkeit gegenüber ihrem Baby und schlägt ihm mit einem Spielzeugzug in den Kopf und lässt ihn bewusstlos. Bartholomews Schicksal ist unbekannt.

Trivia Bearbeiten

  • Bartholomew scheint von dem verformten Kind des Films Eraserhead von David Lynch aus dem Jahr 1977 inspiriert worden zu sein, da beide ähnliche Eigenschaften aufweisen.
  • Es ist möglich, dass Bartholomew ein Dhampir ist, der folkloristische Nachkomme zwischen einem Menschen und einem Vampir.

Galerie Bearbeiten

Nutzung von Community-Inhalten gemäß CC-BY-SA , sofern nicht anders angegeben.

American Horror Story Wiki
Advertisement
American Horror Story Wiki

Bartholomew is the child of Elizabeth and James March that Elizabeth tried to abort. He is a character in Hotel.

Background[]

Bartholomew was born at the Murder House in 1926, when his mother, Elizabeth, sought the help of Dr. Charles Montgomery to terminate her pregnancy, purportedly in the third week of gestation despite very visibly showing. Bartholomew is severely disfigured and in a perpetual state of infancy, residing in Room 33 of the Hotel Cortez, tended by Iris and his mother's minions.

Personality and Appearance[]

His face and head are bulbous and unformed, with a cleft palate extending well beyond the sinus cavity, filled with several sharp teeth around his maw. He is absent of any nose, and his eyes are wide and devoid of pupils, reflecting his victims' faces in pure blackness. He is extremely bloodthirsty in nature, attacking any who disturb his slumber in the darkest recesses of the hotel.

Story[]

Bartholomew was born after his mother, Elizabeth, attempted to get an abortion at the Murder House. He was removed from Elizabeth during surgery and given to a nurse. The doctor told her to get rid of him but she reported that he was still alive. He then attacked her, savagely consuming her blood. The doctor, despite this shocking turn of events, was pleased with the result, and upon Elizabeth awaking, happily told her that she had a boy. He handed her her son, and she looked at him with what appeared to be love, despite the circumstances.

Elizabeth visits Bartholomew, adorned in a long, white gown billowing far behind her. She looks down at a bassinet, smiling as she reaches down to pick up her son and hold him in her hands. She reports that she will be going to Paris, but tells him that when she comes back she will never have to leave him again, as she will soon possess the inheritance of Will Drake upon marrying and murdering him.

After Ramona tries to kill Bartholomew to get revenge on Elizabeth, he scratches her face. She manages to escape and runs out of the room, unintentionally forgetting to close the door behind her, thereby allowing Bartholomew to leave his confines. He arrives in Room 64, falling into John Lowe's luggage (who is packing to leave the Hotel Cortez) and eventually finds himself at John's home. John begins to unpack his suitcase but hears Scarlett crying and goes to comfort her. When he returns to his room, he finds his luggage tipped and his clothes strewn about. Upon finding Bartholomew, he is horrified and attempts to shoot him, but he ends up scaring Scarlett in doing so, who believes that her father is mentally ill and runs to her room. Bartholomew loses a small amount of blood in the process and manages to escape the house. John describes him as "a monster" to a detective who arrives at the property to question what has happened. Shortly after, Alex finds him and brings him back to Elizabeth, who has just returned from Paris, unaware of her son's escape.

After his wedding to Elizabeth, Will Drake is approached by James March, who informs him that he will be a stepfather to Elizabeth's child. Will is confused, so James decides to show Will what his wife gave birth to almost a century ago. Will is shocked and deeply disturbed upon seeing Bartholomew, stating that he doesn't look human. He wonders if it is possible that this child is The Countess', asking if this is a joke. Unbeknownst to him, Elizabeth appears behind him, insulted by his harsh words toward her child. She tells him that she would have done him the kindness of waiting to kill him in Paris during their honeymoon, but has become disgusted by his animosity toward her baby and slams him in the head with a toy train, leaving him unconscious.

Powers[]

Bartholomew is a hybrid of human and vampire, born in 1926. He has demonstrated some of the powers common to vampires, though the full extent of these abilities is unknown.

  • Immortality - Bartholomew is not susceptible to human weaknesses, thus being immune to all aging, disease and death. However, he is still vulnerable to physical injuries.
  • Enhanced Senses - Bartholomew is naturally superior to humans in almost every way, possessed of otherworldly senses which allows him to easily overcome mortals:
    • Night Vision - The ability to see in the dark.
    • Heartbeat Detection - The ability to hear a human's heartbeat.
    • Blood Smell Detection - The ability to identify specific individuals based off the scent of their blood, allowing him to track others over long distances.
  • Enhanced Strength - The ability to exhibit strength beyond a normal member of the user's species.
  • Enhanced Speed - The ability to perform motions, or movements, at a speed and effortlessness that surpasses that of a normal member of the user's species.
  • Hissing - Bartholomew has the ability to emit a loud hiss, similar to a bat, when threatened or angry.

Notes[]

  • Bartholomew seems to have been inspired by the deformed child in the 1977 movie Eraserhead by David Lynch, as they both share similar features.
  • It is possible that Bartholomew is a dhampir, the folkloric offspring between a human and a vampire.

Gallery[]

References[]

Advertisement